This Picture Sucks

Icon

and so do yours

Nikon D300s and D3000 Press Release Review

Today, or possibly yesterday as I don’t care enough to check, Nikon announced two cameras. Since reading a press release is all I actually need to do to write a review in 2009, here we go.

First we have the Nikon D3000, Nikon’s delayed response to the Canon 1000D. That adds another camera to the surprisingly lucrative aprox. $500 market. Honestly, I had a heavy lunch and am too lazy to study the specs, but it looks like every single cheap DSLR camera out on the market. Big LCD screen, long battery life, picture styles, small, etc. There really is only one selling point, and that it is it’s a Nikon and it’s gonna cost $500 retail. Oh, and the shutter is rated for 100k, and that’s pretty freaking sweet.

Says the battery is rated for 550 shots per charge, but that’s with a VR lens with the flash fired at full power every other shot. I could probably get 1000 shots out of it the way I shoot.

Then we have the Nikon D300s, which is a camera I remember telling people would probably not come out. This is an excellent reason why you shouldn’t read my reviews.

Now, the D300s is a lot cooler, giving you 7fps without one of those lame grips, better AF and HD video for $1500 (guessing). I wrote about HD video in DSLRs (have never used it, am a huge fan) in my 500D press review. It also has dual slots, which was previously the domain of pro cameras of lore. Looks like a solid upgrade, if this were a car we’d be calling this a facelift. Probably not a worthy upgrade if you have a D300, but if you’re looking for a crop Nikon, this is the one to get.

I would probably be all over this if I wanted a crop camera and had Nikon glass. I don’t, thank god.

Filed under: reviews

One Response

  1. Jirud says:

    Nikon D300S – I’m totally happy with this camera. You can make as much and simply gorgeous pictures. Relatively easy to use, very good instruction manual, and you can take snapshots of any kind with it. The Live View function is awesome. Very satisfied and highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

