This Picture Sucks

Icon

and so do yours

#15. Multiplicity

Multiplicity is the blending of multiple shots of the same scene with potatochop to – for example – make it seem like there are multiple losers in the same shot. Unless that problem was “what’s a cheap gimmick I can introduce into my photography”, it’s an answer to a problem nobody’s ever had. I know that getting multiple people to pose for your shot might actually require you to take a shower, but it’s worth it.

Have you guys noticed that when people use one gimmick, they tend to use others? Oh look, it’s a HDR as well!

Back around 1990, my friends and I used the basis for this effect to do “special effects” – and I use that term liberally – with an Amiga and a Video Toaster. Yes, your gimmick is so old that nerds with blogs were using it 20 years ago. It has its uses, but unless you’re into special effects just leave it alone.

Filed under: thelist

One Response

  1. greatend says:

    I have just come across this blog and the photography is simply great. I’ll try to link this to many of my sites soon. Anyway if there’s a need for you to do image resize and do image compression, you might need a good photo resizer, too. I hope you can suggest in your next entries some good software. Thanks for this entry. I will follow more of your blogs.

Leave a Reply

